2020 US Americana Honors and Awards announced

And you can always tell at a glance whether it’s ours or not by the spelling of the word “honor” – trade secret. The winners of the 2020 Americana Honors and Awards in the US were announced yesterday, with the Highwomen and John Prine among this year’s winners. Because of the ongoing pandemic, the Americana Music Association decided to go without an in-person awards ceremony in 2020, instead announcing the winners via social media.

The supergroup quartet of Amanda Shires, Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, and Natalie Hemby that make up the Highwomen lead among Americana Awards winners in 2020. The group took prizes for Album of the Year for their self-titled debut, Song of the Year for ‘Crowded Table,’ and Duo/Group of the Year. (Tyler Childers, you was robbed!)

John Prine was named Artist of the Year, the late songwriter’s fourth time to win the honour since 2005. Elsewhere, Austin psychedelic soul band Black Pumas picked up the award for Emerging Act of the Year and Hawktail, the band of acoustic instrumentalists featuring members of Punch Brothers, David Rawlings, Crooked Still, and A Prairie Home Companion, member Brittany Haas was named Instrumentalist of the Year.

Here is the full list of nominees and winners:

Album of the Year
And It’s Still Alright – Nathaniel Rateliff (Produced by James Barone, Patrick Meese and Nathaniel Rateliff)
Country Squire – Tyler Childers (Produced by David Ferguson and Sturgill Simpson)
The Highwomen – The Highwomen (Produced by Dave Cobb) – WINNER
Jaime – Brittany Howard (Produced by Brittany Howard)
While I’m Livin’ – Tanya Tucker (Produced by Brandi Carlile and Shooter Jennings)

Artist of the Year
Brandi Carlile
Brittany Howard
John Prine – WINNER
Tanya Tucker

Duo/Group of the Year
Black Pumas
Drive-By Truckers
The Highwomen – WINNER
Buddy & Julie Miller
Our Native Daughters

Emerging Act of the Year
Black Pumas – WINNER
Katie Pruitt
Aubrie Sellers
Billy Strings
Kelsey Waldon

Instrumentalist of the Year
Ellen Angelico
Annie Clements
Brittany Haas – WINNER
Zachariah Hickman
Rich Hinman

Song of the Year
“And It’s Still Alright,” Nathaniel Rateliff (Written by Nathaniel Rateliff)
“Bring My Flowers Now,” Tanya Tucker (Written by Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth, Tim Hanseroth and Tanya Tucker)
“Crowded Table,” The Highwomen (Written by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby and Lori McKenna) – WINNER
“My Love Will Not Change,” Aubrie Sellers featuring Steve Earle (Written by Billy Burnette and Shawn Camp)
“Stay High,” Brittany Howard (Written by Brittany Howard)
“Thoughts and Prayers,” Drive-By Truckers (Written by Patterson Hood)

About Mark Whitfield 2005 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments