Video: Modern Hinterland “The Lights”

Here is the tongue-in-cheek new video for ‘The Lights’ by Modern Hinterland.  It’s taken from their forthcoming album, ‘The Longest Part of the Night‘, due for release on 31st January.  The band are inspired by the likes Wilco, Neil Young and Damien Jurado and create an engaging blend of melodic Americana, folk and indie.  Songwriter, Chris Hornsby says of the new material: “We want our music to reflect real life – there has to be some sort of truth in it that allows us to get to something real and honest.”  Check it out.

Video: Ned Roberts “The Songbird”

‘The Songbird’ is the second single from the forthcoming album from Ned Roberts.  ‘Dream Sweetheart’ will be released on 4th February, with the album launch at The Slaughtered Lamb.  This is melodic folk with engaging vocals from the London-based Roberts, who said it’s: “…a song of memory and loss – about how shared experiences can be remembered differently, in a different light.  Each verse is a call and response, one fragment of memory answering another.  It’s only in the final verse when the memories coalesce.”

Video: Yola “I Don’t Wanna Lie”

Here’s AUK favourite, Yola’s excellent recent live performance on The Tonight Show, celebrating her four Grammy nominations, including Best New Artist.  The 62nd Grammy Awards ceremony will take place in Los Angeles on January 26th – fingers crossed for her.  Here, also, is her brilliant Tiny Desk Concert for NPR Music, which showcases that incredible, soaring voice.

Video: Merle Haggard & Willie Nelson “Pancho and Lefty”

This week’s retro video is a true classic written by the legendary Townes Van Zandt.  If you watch closely, you might spot Van Zandt making an appearance or two in the video!  As you would expect, the characterful vocals from Nelson and Haggard are excellent.  Legend has it that the character of Lefty was based on Daniel Antopolsky, who toured with Van Zandt back in the day…read my interview with him here.

Video: Nathaniel Rateliff “And It’s Still Alright”

It’s Nathaniel Rateliff.  What’s not to like?  This is the title track from Rateliff’s first solo album in seven years, due out on 14th February.  It’s a beautiful song, showcasing Rateliff’s characterful vocals and masterful song writing.  It’s theme is the passing of his friend Richard Swift, who produced two albums for Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats. Continue reading “Video: Nathaniel Rateliff “And It’s Still Alright””

Video: Robert Vincent “My Neighbour’s Ghost”

Ahead of the release of his new album, ‘In This Town You’re Owned’,  Liverpool-based Robert Vincent has released a new video.  ‘My Neighbour’s Ghost’ is an upbeat, rhythmic song and the video is charming.  Check it out.  The song was produced by the brilliant Ethan Johns, who has worked with the likes of Ray Lamontagne and Laura Marling as well as writing his own material.  Continue reading “Video: Robert Vincent “My Neighbour’s Ghost””

Video Premiere: Gambler’s Daughter “Indigo Blue”

The new single from Jessa Roquet, also-known-as Gambler’s Daughter, is notable for her effortless, soaring voice.  This is excellent song-writing: engaging melody and poetic lyrics.  Gambler’s Daughter’s brand of alternative-folk blends styles and genres, creating something new.  It’s taken from the forthcoming album, ‘Serotinous Skin’, to be released on 7th February.  Check out this video premiere.

Video: Jimmy Bowen “Single Down in San Antone”

Jimmy Bowen’s new single, ‘Single Down in San Antone’, is accompanied by a lyric video.  It’s a familiar tale of a doomed relationship and heartbreak.  Bowen says the song: “…is a realistic song that tells how a woman is tired of the day in day out of her relationship.”  Bowen has been putting out country music, playing in various bands, for decades and was recently  inducted into the Old Time Country Music Hall of Fame.  In the future, Bowen is looking to create his own music show online.  Details will be released on his website here.

Video Premiere: Harrow Fair “Sins We Made”

We’re delighted to share the world video premiere of the new single from Harrow Fair. The good-humoured video for ‘Sins We Made’ is inspired by comic strips and ‘unboxing’ videos.  Harrow Fair are comprised of Andrew Penner (also of Sunparlour Players) on vocals, guitar and drums and Miranda Mulholland (Great Lake Swimmers) on vocals and fiddle.  They know how to play.  Continue reading “Video Premiere: Harrow Fair “Sins We Made””