Bonnie “Prince” Billy and Matt Sweeney announce new album “Superwolves”

Matt Sweeney and Bonnie “Prince” Billy have announced their first album collaboration in 16 years. ‘Superwolves’ is the follow-up to 2005’s ‘Superwolf’ with a digital release on April 30th physical release on June 18th on the Drag City label. You can watch the video for the new song ‘Hall of Death’ which was written with Tuareg guitarist and producer ​Ahmoudou Madassane.

“​The chemistry comes from lives, lived separately, in which music is crucial sustenance,” Bonnie “Prince” Billy said in a statement to Pitchfork. “We listen with gratitude and awe, knowing that we belong in there. We construct our dream selves with the faith that these selves will have their chance at life. We know what we are capable of doing and just need each other’s support to bring the imagined languages to life.​”

“​I love the challenge to write melodies for Will to sing,” Matt Sweeney added. “Struggle with that challenge too. Knowing that Will’s voice will elevate the melody makes me reach higher and dig deeper for the tune. Makes me want to match it with a guitar part that holds his voice like a chalice holds wine (or blood, or whatever is needed to live the best life). I also love singing harmonies and responses to this voice of his.​”

Here’s the tracklisting:

01 Make Worry for Me
02 Good to My Girls
03 God Is Waiting
04 Hall of Death
05 Shorty’s Ark
06 I Am a Youth Inclined to Ramble
07 My Popsicle
08 Watch What Happens
09 Resist the Urge
10 There Must Be a Someone
11 My Blue Suit
12 My Body Is My Own
13 You Can Regret What You Have Done
14 Not Fooling

About Mark Whitfield 2026 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments