Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real announce new album – listen to the first single

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real have announced the release of their new album ‘A Few Stars Apart’ which lands in the UK on June 11th via Fantasy Records (the label does actually exist, it’s not a trick). In advance of the release, you can listen to the album’s first single, ‘Perennial Bloom (Back To You)’ below. It has lyrics too if you want to singalong in the privacy of your own home.

Described as one of Rolling Stone’s “54 Most Anticipated Albums of 2021,” the album is produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb and inspired by “the stillness Nelson found while riding out the beginning of the pandemic with his family in Texas and was recorded with the full band live on eight-track tape over three weeks at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A. The eleven songs reveal what it means to come home again, to be still, and to find community—and yourself.”

“I’m from what one might say is the ultimate road family—I’ve been on the road my entire life,” says Nelson. “I’ve never been anywhere longer than three months, and suddenly here we are, the four of us together. And thank god we were together. I can’t remember the last time we had that much time together as a family. We had a lot of really important bonding that happened during that time. And I have to say, as terrible as the pandemic has been in so many ways, for my inner peace, I was able to take a lot of good from this time. I was able to pause and reflect.”

He continues: “It took me a really long time to come back to the home in my heart. In a physical sense, that’s Texas and Hawaii. But in a spiritual sense as well—I think I finally decided not to run from who I am and who I am destined to be. First and foremost, that’s a songwriter. That’s what this record means to me. There’s a story being told through the whole record. A story about connection and coming home.”

Since their debut over a decade ago, Nelson and his band have toured relentlessly around the world and occasionally serving as Neil Young’s road band. Nelson co-produced the music for 2018’s ‘A Star Is Born’ film in addition to appearing in the film with the band, and went on to win a BAFTA Award for Best Original Music and a GRAMMY Award for Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media for his work.

‘A Few Stars Apart’ Tracklist:

1. We’ll Be Alright
2. Perennial Bloom (Back To You)
3. Throwin’ Away Your Love
4. A Few Stars Apart
5. No Reason
6. Leave ‘em Behind
7. Wildest Dream
8. Giving You Away
9. Hand Me A Light
10. More Than We Can Handle
11. Smile

About Mark Whitfield 1967 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments