Alex Izenberg announces release of fourth album “Alex Izenberg & The Exiles”

Photo: Giraffe Studios

Artwork for Alex Izenberg & The ExilesAlex Izenberg has released three albums under his own name but for his fourth has produced a band album. ‘Alex Izenberg & The Exiles’ is due for release on 26th July 2024 via Weird World / Domino. For ‘Alex Izenberg & The Exiles’, the Los Angeles artist was focused on a simple goal: making something built to last. The melodies are romantic and warm, and the arrangements are expansive, making expert use of a new ensemble formed around the current crop of songs. Izenberg brought in veteran producer Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, Father John Misty, Built to Spill) to mix the album. The resulting sound combines the intimacy of his earlier work, while casting a communal glow that feels quite new.

The core of the band is Izenberg’s childhood friend and primary collaborator, multi-instrumentalist Greg Hartunian. The pair co-produced the record at Tropico Beauty in Glendale, California. They introduce a swathe of collaborators including drummer Jay Rudolph (Weyes Blood), keyboardist Tyler Cash (Devendra Banhart), bassist Max Whipple (Sparks), pedal steel guitarist Connor Gallaher (Lana Del Rey), saxophonist Colin Kupka, guitarist Dashiell Le Francis, and vocalists Marina Allen, Juliana Giraffe, Gracie Jackson, and Colby Nathan. String arrangements were undertaken by Izenberg and MUNA’s Cynthia Tolson.

Izenberg has released a single ‘Drinking the Dusk Away’, a song described as  “huffing, percussive“, accompanied by a video from Giraffe Studios.

About Richard Parkinson 129 Articles
London based self-diagnosed music junkie with tastes extending to all points of big tent americana and beyond. Fan of acts and songs rather than genres.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments