New double Waterboys album lands in September

The Waterboys will release their new studio double album “Out Of All This Blue” on September 8th, their first for BMG Records who they recently signed with. Produced by Mike Scott and recorded in Dublin and Tokyo the album will be available on (wait for this…) Double CD and Double Vinyl, plus Deluxe Triple CD (including Bonus Tracks) and Deluxe Triple Vinyl (including Bonus Tracks) and Digital, and comprises 23 songs with apparently “echoes of classic R&B, country, soul and funk and underpinned by modern hiphop production values and rhythms” to which the only response is “God that sounds dreadful.” Oj!

String & brass sections were arranged and conducted by Trey Pollard of The Spacebomb Collective.  Mike Scott says of the record: “Out Of All This Blue is 2/3 love and romance, 1/3 stories and observations.  I knew from the beginning I wanted to make a double album, and lucky for me – and I hope the listener – the songs just kept coming, and in pop colours.”

Look out for a review on AUK nearer the time, and don’t forget to check out their October tour dates supporting the album here.

The Waterboys – Out Of All This Blue Track Listing:

1  Do We Choose Who We Love
2  If I Was Your Boyfriend
3  Santa Fe
4  If the Answer Is Yeah
5  Love Walks In
6  New York I Love You
7  The Connemara Fox
8  The Girl in the Window Chair
9  Morning Came Too Soon
10  Hiphopstrumental 4 (Scatman)
11  The Hammerhead Bar
12  Mister Charisma
13  Nashville, Tennessee
14  Man, What a Woman
15  Girl in a Kayak
16  Monument
17  Kinky’s History Lesson
18  Skyclad Lady
19  Rokudenashiko
20  Didn’t We Walk on Water
21  The Elegant Companion
22  Yamaben
23  Payo Payo Chin


1  The Memphis Fox
2 If the Answer Is Yeah (Alternate Version)
3  If I Was Your Boyfriend (Zeenie Mix)
4  Epiphany on Mott Street
5  Didn’t We Walk on Water (JessKav Mix)
6   Santa Fe (Instrumental)
7  Payo Payo Chin (Tokyo Hotel)
8  Return to Roppongi Hills
9  Nashville, Tennessee (Live)
10  Mister Charisma (Alternate Version)
11  So in Love with You

About Mark Whitfield 2007 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments