New Johnny Cash live album due September

The Owsley Stanley Foundation and Renew Records/BMGA have announced the September 24th release of a new Johnny Cash live album, which was originally recorded in San Francisco in 1968 by audio engineer Owsley Stanley. ‘Johnny Cash, At the Carousel Ballroom, April 24th, 1968’ was recorded only days before the release of his most famous live album, ‘Live at Folsom Prison’ and Cash historian Mark Stielper told Rolling Stone in an email that the show captures the musician “on the brink, the very cusp, of his Ascendancy… the last picture before he was a prophet and a pilgrim and mover of mountains and a friend of presidents and the voice of God… In some ways, going into that Grateful Dead-owned ‘psychedelic total-environment dance hall,’ in the middle of San Francisco’s Haight-Ashbury counterculture, was as brave an act as locking himself in with maximum-security prisoners two hours away”.

The tracklist features two Bob Dylan covers, as well as performances of overshadowed songs from his own catalogue at the time, including ‘The Ballad of Ira Hayes’. Stielper notes that Cash still had “prison songs on his brain,” and the show opens with ‘Cocaine Blues’, ‘Long Black Veil’ and ‘Going to Memphis.’

‘At the Carousel Ballroom’ will be released on CD and vinyl formats, and will come with a booklet featuring new essays by Cash’s son, John Carter Cash, Starfinder Stanley, the Grateful Dead’s Bob Weir and Widespread Panic’s Dave Schools, along with artwork by Susan Archie, and a reproduction of the original concert poster by Steve Catron.

Live at the Carousel Ballroom Track List

1. “Cocaine Blues
2. “Long Black Veil
3. “Orange Blossom Special (CD and Digital only)
4. “Going to Memphis
5. “The Ballad of Ira Hayes
6. “Rock Island Line
7. “Guess Things Happen That Way
8. “One Too Many Mornings
9. “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
10. “Give My Love to Rose
11. “Green, Green Grass of Home
12. “Old Apache Squaw
13. “Lorena
14. “Forty Shades of Green
15. “Bad News
16. “Jackson
17. “Tall Lover Man
18. “June’s Song Introduction
19. “Wildwood Flower
20. “Foggy Mountain Top
21. “This Land Is Your Land
22. “Wabash Cannonball
23. “Worried Man Blues
24. “Long Legged Guitar Pickin’ Man
25. “Ring of Fire”
26. “Big River”
27. “Don’t Take Your Guns to Town”
28. “I Walk the Line”

About Mark Whitfield 2026 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] June that we mentioned a new Johnny Cash Concert recording was a-comin’ down the tracks?  It was.  Back then we said it would arrive in September – latest update is October 29th […]