2018 Americana Music Association Awards nominees revealed

News in from the AMA overnight (the US version) of their list of nominees for their honours and awards for 2018, and there’s good news for Mr Isbell, Margo Price and Brandi Carlile among others – in fact the lists are dominated by the 3 artists, although they are also joined by Mary Gauthier for her excellent “Rifles & Rosary Beads” record, nominated for album of the Year), John Prine (nominated for Artist of the Year), and Lee Ann Womack (nominated for Song of the Year).

The winners of each category will be announced during the Americana Honors & Awards show on September 12, 2018 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN, part of “AMERICANAFEST: The Americana Music Festival & Conference,” which runs from September 11-16, 2018. Each year, the Americana Music Association honours distinguished members of the music community with six member-voted annual awards and with Lifetime Achievement Awards, which will be announced leading up to the big night.  Here’s the list of nominees.

Album of the Year:
All American Made, Margo Price (Produced by Jeremy Ivey, Alex Munoz, Margo Price and Matt Ross-Spang)
By The Way, I Forgive You, Brandi Carlile (Produced by Dave Cobb and Shooter Jennings)
The Nashville Sound, Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit (Produced by Dave Cobb)
Rifles & Rosary Beads, Mary Gauthier (Produced by Neilson Hubbard)

Artist of the Year:
Brandi Carlile
Jason Isbell
Margo Price
John Prine

Duo/Group of the Year:
I’m With Her
Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit
Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats

Emerging Artist of the Year:
Courtney Marie Andrews
Tyler Childers
Anderson East
Lilly Hiatt

Song of the Year:
“A Little Pain,” Margo Price (Written by Margo Price)
“All The Trouble,” Lee Ann Womack (Written by Waylon Payne, Lee Ann Womack and Adam
“If We Were Vampires,” Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit (Written by Jason Isbell)
“The Joke,” Brandi Carlile (Written by Brandi Carlile, Dave Cobb, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth)

Instrumentalist of the Year:
Daniel Donato
Brittany Haas
Jerry Pentecost
Molly Tuttle

About Mark Whitfield 2031 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments