2024 AMAUK Awards winners announced

Photo: Danny Clinch

The winners of the UK Americana Awards 2024 were revealed last night in a glittering ceremony at Hackney Church, London. Acclaimed singer-songwriters and musicians Allison Russell and Michele Stodart scooped two awards each: Russell for International Artist of the Year and International Album of the Year (“The Returner”) and Stodart for UK Artist of the Year and UK Album of the Year (“Invitation”). Outstanding US singer-songwriter Margo Price won the International Song of the Year Award for “Radio” feat. Sharon van Etten and UK Song of the Year was won by rising stars Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys for “High Time”. Finger-style guitartist and one of the UK’s only female professional pedal steel players Holly Carter took home the award for UK Instrumentalist of the Year for the second year running, mirrored by English roots singer-songwriter and pianist Elles Bailey who triumphed once again in the UK Live Act of the Year category.

The award for the best-selling Americana album of the year by a UK artist was presented to Billy Bragg for The Roaring Forty. Receiving the award, Bragg commented “ Thrilled to discover that my 40th anniversary album is the best selling UK Americana album of 2023. After such long career, I never take my fans for granted, so I want to thank them for their continued support and also the AMAUK for their work in promoting roots music. Without them, there wouldn’t be an Americana chart for me to top”.
Of the prestigious Special Awards, conferred by the AMA-UK Board, best-selling author Nick Hornby presented the International Trailblazer Award to renowned US singer-songwriter Jason Isbell. Upon receiving his award Jason said “I’m honored to receive the Trailblazer award. I’ve always been surprised by the warm welcome my work has received in the UK, and I’m proud to know that the stories I tell might serve as inspiration for younger artists.”

The International Lifetime Achievement Award was given to legendary American singer-songwriter, musician and producer Dan Penn, preceded by touching video messages of congratulation from Elvis Costello and Mike Scott of the Waterboys. A medley of Penn’s hits was performed by Elles Bailey, Margo Cilker, St Catherine’s Child, Lauren Housley, Simeon Hammond Dallas, Hannah White, Johnny Morgan; Demi Marriner alongside the houseband.

Former CEO of the AMA-UK Stevie Smith was presented with the Grass Roots Award by Billy Bragg, in recognition of her hard work developing the UK Americana landscape, over more than a decade. Shining a spotlight on exciting new talent, Bob Harris OBE chose Jonny Morgan for his 2024 Emerging Artist Award.

Acting CEO Charlie Pierce commented: “Tonight’s Award ceremony was the culmination of a festival celebrating the best of Americana & Roots Music, underlining the genre’s growing popularity across the UK and recognising the labels, managers, publishers and wider industry infrastructure that supports the talent we all enjoy. Having the opportunity to gather over 70 artists spanning our wide community across the week has been an honour for the AMA-UK. We are part of the fastest growing genre Our daytime programming of panels and talks gave space and opportunity to explore important topics for our community and I am incredibly grateful to the whole team has brought this week to life, including our sponsors, event team, production staff, volunteers, speakers and award nominees and winners this evening.”

Nominations – winners in bold

UK Album of the Year

Far From Saints – Far From Saints
Michele Stodart – Invitation, presented by Helen Thomas (Head of Station for BBC Radio 2)
Roseanne Reid – Lawside
Ward Thomas – Music In The Madness

International Album of the Year

Allison Russell – The Returner, presented by Nina Nesbitt
Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors – Strangers No More
Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit – Weathervanes
Margo Cilker – Valley of Heart’s Delight

UK Song of the Year

Hannah White – “Chains of Ours”
Kirsten Adamson – “My Father’s Songs”
Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys – “High Time”, presented by Drew Holcomb
St Catherine’s Child – “Every Generation”

International Song of the Year

Chris Stapleton – “White Horse”
Maren Morris – “The Tree”
Margo Price feat. Sharon van Etten– “Radio”, presented by Frank Turner
Noah Kahan – “Stick Season”

UK Artist of the Year

Cardinal Black
Elles Bailey
Hannah White
Michele Stodart, presented by Charlie Starr (Blackberry Smoke)

International Artist of the Year

Allison Russell, presented by Simeon Hammond Dallas & Andy Facer (Andy from 5F marketing representing Sweet Home Alabama)
Jason Isbell
Lucinda Williams
War & Treaty

UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Holly Carter, presented by Jason Isbell
Joe Coombs
Joe Harvey White
Keiron Marshall

UK Live Act of the Year

Elles Bailey, presented by Immy Doman and Risa Tabatznik (The Green Note)
Far From Saints
Ferris & Sylvester
Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls
Lauren Housley & The Northern Cowboys
The Hanging Stars


Special Awards:

International Lifetime Achievement Award

Selected by the board members, our highest honour is awarded to an international artist, duo or group in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the Americana genre over the span of their career and life in music. The 2024 recipient will be Dan Penn, introduced by a video of congratulations messages from friends and fellow musicians

International Trailblazer Award

Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates an international artist, duo or group that has taken an exceptional path, inspiring others to follow in their footsteps in developing the Americana genre. The 2024 recipient will be Jason Isbell, presented by Nick Hornby

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award

Selected by Bob Harris OBE, this special award celebrates the breakthrough artist, duo or group that has particularly impressed the legendary music broadcaster throughout the year. The 2024 recipient will be Jonny Morgan, presented by Bob Harris OBE

Grass Roots Award

Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates the sometimes-unsung heroes of the UK Americana scene. It is presented to individuals working in the industry (in a capacity other than as artists) who have made outstanding efforts to support Americana music from the grass roots up. The 2024 recipient will be Stevie Smith, presented by Billy Bragg

Best-Selling Americana Album by a UK artist, presented in conjunction with The Official Charts Company (OCC)

Winner: Billy Bragg, presented by Martin Talbot (OCC) and Andy Facer (5F marketing representing Sweet Home Alabama)

About Mark Whitfield 2018 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments