Alejandro Escovedo announces new album, releases new track – Listen

News in this morning from RS Country on new music from a legend: “As far as rock & roll goes, Alejandro Escovedo’s new song “Sonica USA” is a true melting pot – which is apt, given that the performer’s career has been about as varied they get. The first song to be released from the Escovedo’s next LP, The Crossing, “Sonica USA” also includes an appearance by one of his musical heroes, Wayne Kramer.

“Sonica USA” serves as a guide of sorts to the trajectory that Escovedo’s music has followed over the past four decades, name-checking everyone from proto-punks the Zeros to Public Enemy and Kramer’s seminal group, the MC5. The chugging guitar makes for a timely homage to the Detroit rockers, who celebrate the 50th anniversary of their album Kick Out the Jams this year, but it also hits close to home in the current political climate as the first glimpse of a concept record focused on the immigrant experience in the United States.

The Crossing will be released September 14th, and its storyline follows the intersecting lives of two characters – one from Italy, the other from Mexico – as they wrestle with the idea of cultural identity and confront racism in the United States. It’s the first new solo album from Escovedo since 2016’s Burn Something Beautiful and features additional guest appearances by the Stooges’ James Williamson, Joe Ely and more.

The Crossing track list:

1. “Andare”
2. “Footsteps in the Shadows”
3. “Texas Is My Mother”
4. “Teenage Luggage”
5. “Something Blue”
6. “Outlaw for You”
7. “Amor Puro”
8. “Waiting for Me”
9. “How Many Times”
10. “Cherry Blossom Rain”
11. “Sonica USA”
12. “Rio Navidad”
13. “Silver City”
14. “Fury and Fire”
15. “Flying”
16. “MC Overload”
17. “The Crossing”

>>> Please help to support musicians affected by the coronavirus crisis in the UK by donating £2 a month to us - we'll send you an exclusive 20 track curated playlist every month plus the opportunity to win tickets and CDs. Click here for more information.

>>> Are you a new or emerging artist seeking some exposure? - find out about our new Twang Factor here

Author: Mark Whitfield

Mark Whitfield has been the Editor of Americana UK for the last 17 years and still feels like this is his pretend job, mainly because it is.

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.