Buddy and Julie Miller are back with “Breakdown on 20th Ave. South” – Listen

It has been an absolute age since americana legends Buddy Miller and Julie Miller (they’re related you know) have released an album together, and they’ve both been involved in a fair bit of stuff since the last including Buddy’s involvement with Robert Plant and Alison Krauss’s Raising Sand tour and the ‘Nashville’ TV series. Anyway, they’re back with a new album entitled ‘Breakdown on 20th Ave. South’ which is due out June 21st on New West.

In advance of that the label has released the first double A-side (as Grandad used to say) single from the record – ‘Spittin’ on Fire’ which is backed by ‘War Child’ – you can listen to them both below (In case you think you’re hallucinating the clips do actually move). The physical single comes out tomorrow and there are two more lined-up which will have exclusive B-sides.

According to RS, Julie Miller penned some 50 to 60 songs for the new record which was recorded in the couple’s bedroom, the album release being narrowed down to 12 tracks.  Here’s the track listing:

“Breakdown on 20th Ave. South”
“Feast of the Dead”
“Everything Is Your Fault”
“Unused Heart”
“I’m Gonna Make You Love Me”
“Till the Stardust Comes Apart”
“Underneath the Sky”
“Spittin’ on Fire”
“War Child”
“Thoughts at 2am”
“Storm of Kisses”

About Mark Whitfield 2007 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments