Buddy & Julie Miller “Don’t Make Her Cry” – Listen to their new co-pen with Dylan

Credit: Jeff Fasano

Buddy & Julie Miller will release their new album ‘In The Throes’ on September 22nd via New West Records and they’ve released another song from it today – Julie wrote every song on the album with the exception of ‘Don’t Make Her Cry’, which is a rare co-write between Bob Dylan, Regina McCrary, and Julie. Buddy comments on the track: “‘Don’t Make Her Cry’ were the words Regina McCrary’s father, Reverend Sam McCrary, said to Bob when they met at a Nashville show in 1978 shortly after she joined his band. Three decades later, they finally wrote lyrics to the song together in Huntsville, AL. When it came to writing the music, Bob said to Regina, ‘give it to Buddy Miller.’ I then passed it to Julie, who added more lyrics, moved others around, and set it to music.”

The 12-song set of ‘In The Throes’ was produced by Buddy Miller and features Emmylou Harris, Regina McCrary, Larry Campbell & Teresa Williams, Gurf Morlix, and Matt Slocum of Sixpence None the Richer. It follows their 2019 acclaimed ‘Breakdown on 20th Ave. South’, which was Buddy & Julie Miller’s first album in a decade. Rolling Stone said the album “…ranks among the year’s finest,” and American Songwriter called it “…a mesmerizing listen.”  We raved about it a bit too. Look out for AUK’s review of the new album next month.

About Mark Whitfield 2026 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments