David Crosby to release first ever live album

Photo by Anna Webber

David Crosby has announced his first live album ‘Live at the Capitol Theatre’ will be released on November 25th on BMG. He recorded and filmed at the historic Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, NY, where he was backed by The Lighthouse Band, his first new band since CPR (Crosby, Pevar and Raymond). The Lighthouse Band has collaborated with Crosby since the 2018 tour in support of Crosby’s seventh solo album ‘Here if You Listen‘ culminating in this live-recorded set on the last night of the run. It includes a new version of the song 1974.

David Crosby self-produced the album but it was mixed by Kevin Madigan, Michael League, David Crosby and Nic Hard. Peter Shapiro, owner of The Capitol Theatre, commented “Hosting David Crosby at The Capitol Theatre was an honor for us and when David came out and crushed his performance it elevated things even further. We feel very fortunate that this legendary moment was captured forever.“.

Vocalist and guitarist Michael League shares, “I found the demo and I listened to it. I fell in love with this and I thought, you know, Crosby should finish this and he said, ‘Man, it’s been sitting on my computer for 40 years, so you know, whatever, sure’, so I sent it to Becca Stevens and she was like, ‘give me a crack at it’ – so she came in a couple of days later with four-part harmonies for the entire song, lyrics for the entire song, and we sat down that day and kind of fine-tuned things, and so 44 years after it’s kind of conception a song was born.“.

Singer Becca Stevens commented: “The Lighthouse band is family. David and I tease about my not “understanding the magnitude of his brilliance”. I didn’t grow up with his music. I knew his name, but that was about it. I’ve gotten to know him purely through my experience of him in the present moment, generous, endlessly inspired, ambitious, and completely insane (in all my favorite ways). A man who has known immense fame, and yet would start a band at seventy something with three youngish weirdos, begging them to share the light with him. There’s something truly wonderful in that, and truly David.“.

Keyboardist Michelle Willis adds, “He (Crosby) has gifted us his friendship, care, wisdom, humor, family, and community. And in addition, he has given Mike, Becca and I endless tools to create something of beauty to offer. This is because he truly believes in music, and its ability to profoundly change and make better those who encounter it. I’m so grateful to have a fighter like Croz in my life.“.

The album will be available on CD and DVD, and your favourite streaming platform. You can pre-order the album from the artist’s website.


1 – The Us Below
2 – Things We Do For Love
3 – 1974
4 – Vagrants of Venice
5 – Regina
6 – Laughing
7 – What Are Their Names
8 – By The Light of Common Day
9 – Glory
10 – The City
11 – Look in Their Eyes
12 – Guinnevere
13 – Janet
14 – Carry Me
15 – Déjà Vu
16 – Woodstock

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Great news but this will not be his first ever live album. In 1994 he released ‚It‘s all coming back to me now…‘ on the Atlantic label and that was/is a great one!