Guitar maestro Robert Cray to tour the UK

There are few guitarists more masterful than Robert Cray, and it’s a mastery that he has been displaying for over forty years. Bursting onto the mainstream – and bringing his music to the mainstream was quite a feat at the time – in the eighties he has moved easily between pop-rock, soulful ballads and, of course, outright electric blues – hearkening back to earlier greats such as BB King and Buddy Guy.  It’s a rounded sound that crosses strict genre boundaries – heck, the Robert Cray Band played the Cambridge Folk Festival in 2011 (a good year for guitarists as Richard Thompson was also on the bill).So it’s a great pleasure to announce that Robert Cray is bringing  his band to the UK for a short tour – starting next Monday.

Tour dates:

Mon 15th Oct Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion
Tue 16th Oct Salford The Lowry
Wed 17th Oct Aylesbury Waterside Theatre
Fri 19th Oct Glasgow City Halls
Sat 20th Oct Edinburgh Usher Hall
Mon 22nd Oct Sheffield City Hall
Tue 23rd Oct Cheltenham Town Hall
Wed 24th Oct Coventry Warwick Arts Centre
Fri 26th Oct York Barbican
Sun 28th Oct Liverpool Philharmonic Hall
Mon 29th Oct Guildford G Live

And whilst you get onto your ticket seller of choice here’s an early outing of that trademark guitar style.

Author: Jonathan Aird

Sure, I could climb high in a tree, or go to Skye on my holiday. I could be happy. All I really want is the excitement of first hearing The Byrds, the amazement of decades of Dylan's music, or the thrill of seeing a band like The Long Ryders live. That's not much to ask, is it?

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.