New Rodney Crowell album due July

Rodney Crowell has been around for a while now – he would often kick around a football made of tripe wrapped in muslin with Clement Attlee – and today he’s announced the forthcoming arrival of his nineteenth album Acoustic Classics which is due out on July 13th and features new versions of some of his best-recognised songs. RS report: “The writer of 15 Number One country hits, including “Making Memories of Us” and “Please Remember Me,” cut by Keith Urban and Tim McGraw respectively, Crowell presents stripped-down versions of these songs on the LP. Other highlights include “Leaving Louisiana in the Broad Daylight,” “Shame on the Moon” (a Number Two pop smash for Bob Seger), and “Ain’t Living Long Like This,” as well as songs from his solo LPs, including Diamonds & Dirt, which set a record for its five Number One singles on the country chart.

Crowell will follow the release of the new LP by joining other tunesmiths to share details of their creative process and offer advice on the craft of songwriting at the new Adventures in Song conference. A four-day songwriting camp, it also features Lisa Loeb, Joe Henry, Allen Shamblin, Brennen Leigh and Don Peake, along with special guests Bernie Taupin and Benmont Tench. Set for July 16th through 20th, the event takes place at Asilomar Conference Grounds in Carmel, California.

Acoustic Classics will be out July 13th and represents the first release on Crowell’s newly-launched imprint, RC1. Information on pre-orders, including exclusive bundles, is available at Crowell’s official website.”

Tracklist for Rodney Crowell’s Acoustic Classics:

1. “Earthbound”
2. “Leaving Louisiana in the Broad Daylight
3. “Anything But Tame”
4. “Making Memories of Us”
5. “Lovin’ All Night”
6. “Shame on the Moon Redux”
7. “I Couldn’t Leave You If I Tried”
8. “She’s Crazy for Leaving”
9. “After All This Time”
10. “Tennessee Wedding”
11. “Ain’t Living Long Like This”
12. “Please Remember Me”

About Mark Whitfield 2019 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments