Nickel Creek announces new album – new single out now

Photo by Josh Goleman

GRAMMY Award-winning trio Nickel Creek aka mandolinist Chris Thile, violinist Sara Watkins and guitarist Sean Watkins will release ‘Celebrants‘, their first new album in nine years, on March 24th via Thirty Tigers. Ahead of the release, the new song, ‘Strangers’, came out this week – listen to it below.

Their fifth studio album, ‘Celebrants‘ marks a highly-anticipated return for the trio. The eighteen tracks were recorded at Nashville’s RCA Studio A, the album being produced by longtime collaborator Eric Valentine (Queens of the Stone Age, Grace Potter, Weezer) and features Mike Elizondo on bass.

Of the project, the band reflects: “This is a record about embracing the friction inherent in real human connection. We begin the record yearning for and pursuing harmonious connection. We end the record having realised that truly harmonious connection can only be achieved through the dissonance that we’ve spent our entire adult lives trying to avoid.

Track List:

1. Celebrants
2. Strangers
3. Water Under the Bridge, Part 1
4. The Meadow
5. Thinnest Wall
6. Going Out…
7. Holding Pattern
8. Where the Long Line Leads
9. Goddamned Saint
10. Stone’s Throw
11. Goddamned Saint, Reprise
12. From the Beach
13. To The Airport
14. …Despite the Weather
15. Hollywood Ending
16. New Blood
17. Water Under the Bridge, Part 2
18. Failure Isn’t Forever

While the few UK dates of their January tour have long sold out, the band will be playing at London Barbican in September and tickets go on sale on Friday. The album will be available on coloured and standard double-vinyl LP, CD, and digital download. You can preorder it here.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments