Rachel Harrington arrives in UK next week for dates

Pacific Northwest-based Americana singer-songwriter Rachel Harrington arrives in the UK next week for a full tour, including appearances at the Maverick Festival, SummerTyne Americana and Beer and Bluegrass, with further dates to follow in the Netherlands from late September and a short UK return run from mid October, in support of her anticipated new record ‘Hush the Wild Horses’, her first album proper in over 7 years, which is due for release on September 6th.

Its themes are farmed from the last seven years at home in Oregon. Family stories, from horses to Graceland, from Vietnam to the sweet hereafter, from wagon ruts to the interstate, everything dusted with the American West. Recorded in Portland, Oregon, Nashville and Austin, the album features guest musicians who were hand-picked for their particular sounds. Pedal steel legend Lloyd Maines (father of Dixie Chicks’ lead singer Natalie Maines) lends his twang and mood. Fiddle is provided by Grand Ole Opry staff fiddler Eamon McLoughlin (Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell), while Laura Veirs and Shelley Short (Neko Case) provide harmony vocals.

Produced by Portland veteran musician Casey Neill (Casey Neill and The Norway Rats), the album was recorded at Scenic Burrows studio with engineer John Morgan Askew (Richmond Fontaine, The Delines, Laura Gibson).

Here are the dates:

Thu 4 July – Basingstoke, The Forge @ The Anvil
Fri 5 July – Northampton, Royal & Derngate
Sat 6 July – Easton, Suffolk, Maverick Festival 2019
Sun 7 July – Easton, Maverick Festival 2019, Gospel Brunch
Sun 7 July – King’s Lynn, Captain Fawcett’s Emporium
Wed 10 July – Biddulph, Staffordshire, Biddulph Town Hall
Fri 12 July – Beverley, The Monk’s Walk
Sun 14 July – Sheffield, The Greystones
Tue 16 July – Edinburgh, Leith Folk Club, Victoria Park House Hotel
Thu 18 July – Inverness, Eden Court Theatre
Sat 20 July – Gateshead, SummerTyne Americana Festival 2019, River Cruise (5:20pm) with Massy Ferguson
Sun 21 July – Gateshead, SummerTyne Americana Festival 2019, Concourse Stage (Noon) with Massy Ferguson
Mon 22 July – Birmingham, Kitchen Garden Café
Wed 24 July – Worth Matravers, nr. Swanage, The Square & Compass
Thu 25 July – Bournemouth, The Firkin Shed, Bluegrass Discovery
Fri 26 July – Poole, Beer and Bluegrass 2019
Sat 27 July – Poole, Beer and Bluegrass 2019
Sun 28 July – London, Green Note
Sun 13 October – Nottingham, The Running Horse
Sat 19 October – Leeds, Seven Arts

Please help to support americana in the UK by donating £2 a month to us - we'll send you an exclusive 20 track curated playlist every month plus the opportunity to win tickets and CDs. Click here for more information.

Author: Mark Whitfield

Mark Whitfield has been the Editor of Americana UK for the last 17 years and still feels like this is his pretend job, mainly because it is.

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.