Robert Plant & Alison Krauss reunite for new album “Raise The Roof”

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss have announced the forthcoming release of their new album ‘Raise The Roof’, due out November 19th on Warner Music. The surprise announcement finds Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Plant and 27-time Grammy-winner Krauss, reunited after some fourteen years, following the historic success of their first collaboration ‘Raising Sand’, which reached #2 on the Official UK Chart back in 2007 and generated multi-platinum sales, earning six Grammy Awards including Album and Record of the Year.

Like its predecessor, ‘Raise The Roof’ was produced by T Bone Burnett, who worked with Plant and Krauss to expand their collaboration in new directions, accompanied by drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell, and Buddy Miller, bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, along with pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl among others.

The album features twelve new recordings of songs by major artists including Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, The Everly Brothers, Anne Briggs, Geeshie Wiley, Bert Jansch and more. Other highlights include a Plant-Burnett original, ‘High and Lonesome’ and the classic ‘Can’t Let Go,’ written by Randy Weeks and first recorded by Lucinda Williams. You can listen to that below.

Raise The Roof Tracklist:
1. Quattro (World Drifts In)
2. The Price of Love
3. Go Your Way
4. Trouble With My Lover
5. Searching for My Love
6. Can’t Let Go
7. It Don’t Bother Me
8. You Led Me to The Wrong
9. Last Kind Words Blues
10. High and Lonesome
11. Going Where the Lonely Go
12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me

About Mark Whitfield 1964 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jeremy Courtnadge

Thanks. For aficionados and/ or completists, the new Mojo has a cover disc of 15 songs chosen by the pair. All good stuff. There’ll also be a ‘deluxe’ version of the new CD with 2 extra tracks.