Second UK Americana Awards Announced for 2017

Following the success of 2016’s inaugural Awards, the AMA-UK (not to be confused with AUK, which people often do) has announced that the second annual UK Americana Awards ceremony will take place at London’s St John at Hackney music venue on Thursday 2 February as part of a two-day event which will also include an evening of showcases on Wednesday 1 February in various venues around Hackney and daytime conferences on both days.  Once again hosted by legendary broadcaster Bob Harris, the Awards will feature performances from nominees and award winners as well as the presentation of awards recognising both British and international artists working within the broad reach of the genre.

Performers at the first Awards in February 2016 included Danny & the Champions of the World and Gretchen Peters, who took home five awards between them, Billy Bragg, who was presented with the Trailblazer Award, Robert Vincent, who won the Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award, Bears Den, Lewis & Leigh, Emily Barker, The Dreaming Spires and Cale Tyson. Award presenters included Bonnie Raitt, Chris Difford, Elizabeth McGovern and Ricky Ross.

The nominations for 2017’s Awards will be announced at the official launch on November 15, to be held at Gibson Studio in London with live music from Danny & the Champions of the World.

You can get “early bird” tickets by heading here now

About Mark Whitfield 2007 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments