A bluegrass tribute to Bob Seger is on the way

Bo Bice Photo: Greg Hernandez

A project more than ten years in gestation, Lonesome Day Records will be releasing an all-star bluegrass tribute to Bob Seger, ‘Silver Bullet Bluegrass’, on 12th July 2024 via Sony/The Orchard.

Art work for Silver Bullet Bluegrass Bob Seger TributeThe project first came to life back in 2012 when a few tracks were cut, but other commitments, in particular producer and Lonesome Day label owner Randall Deaton acquiring a leisure business, got in the way. Several years later, Deaton’s commitment to the tribute was reignited in part by the enthusiasm of engineer Jimmy Nutt (Jason Isbell, The Dead South, The Blind Boys of Alabama) and artist/songwriter Gary Nichols (The Steel Drivers). “Seger’s songs are timeless and the vocal performances by these artists were too good to stay hidden any longer,” Deaton notes. “I am incredibly proud of this record.”

The 13-track album, which features lead vocals from Bo Bice, Carson Peters, Gary Nichols, Jeff Parker, Josh Shilling, Keith Garrett, Larry Cordle, Robert Hale, Shonna Tucker, Tim Shelton, Tim Stafford, Bill Taylor, and Ward Hayden.  The team also called on musical support from Richard Bennett, Shawn Brock, Larry Cordle, Stephen Mougin, and Gary Nichols (guitars); Shawn Brock, Jeff Parker, Tony Robertson, and Darrell Webb (mandolin); Richard Bailey and Ned Luberecki (banjo); Mike Bub, Mike Flemming, and David Hood (bass).  Fiddle players include Tim Crouch, Shawn Lane, Megan Lynch, Carson Peters, and Tammy Rogers while Wayne Bridge, Phil Easterbrook, and Jake Joines contribute dobro. Harmony vocals were provided by Sarah Borges, Shawn Lane, Gary Nichols, Tim Shelton and Cindy Walker.

“Silver Bullet Bluegrass” Track List:

Long Twin Silver Line (Carson Peters)
Turn The Page (Gary Nichols)
Hollywood Nights (Shonna Tucker)
Against The Wind (Tim Shelton)
You’ll Accompany Me (Keith Garrett)
We’ve Got Tonight (Jeff Parker)
Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man (Bo Bice)
Betty Lou’s Gettin’ Out Tonight (Ward Hayden)
Main Street (Josh Shilling)
Even Now (Tim Stafford)
Feel Like A Number (Robert Hale)
Roll Me Away (Bill Taylor)
Night Moves (Larry Cordle)

‘Silver Bullet Bluegrass’ will be available on vinyl, disc, and all streaming platforms.  Pre-save link can be found here. The album’s first single is ‘Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man’ featuring Bo Bice.  You can watch it below.

About Richard Parkinson 116 Articles
London based self-diagnosed music junkie with tastes extending to all points of big tent americana and beyond. Fan of acts and songs rather than genres.
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments