Billy Bragg announces UK dates

At last some good news – Billy Bragg has announced an Autumn tour. OK, Autumn 2021 – but it’s something to look forward to.  And he’ll have been able to write his “goodbye to Trump now let’s get on and fix things” song by then which is bound to be a show highlight.  Something along the lines of “Casting this apprentice president into the wastebasket of history / Not at all regretfully, you’re not hired.

It says here that Billy Bragg has been “a fearless recording artist, tireless live performer and peerless political campaigner for over 35 years.”  It says a lot of other things too, but since it’s mostly about albums – and we mostly have them all, right? – we’ll skip that part and go straight to the bit where Billy Bragg speaks: “In these challenging times, we all need something to hang on to. Like everyone else, my plans for 2020 have been disrupted by the pandemic, but today I’m announcing an extensive UK & Irish tour for this time next year to give me something tangible to work towards. My hope is that, by then, we’ll be able to get together again and enjoy the uplift that live music brings, to audience and performer alike. Hope to see you next autumn.

Tickets go on sale on the 16th of October (this year), and the list of dates are below.

Billy Bragg 2021 UK Tour:

Thurs 21 Oct – GATESHEAD – Sage Gateshead
Fri 22 Oct -DUNDEE – Fat Sam’s
Sat 23 Oct – GLASGOW – Barrowland Ballroom
Tues 26 Oct – LIVERPOOL – Philharmonic Hall
Wed 27 Oct  – OXFORD  –  New Theatre
Thurs 28 Oct – BIRMINGHAM  – Symphony Hall
Sat 30 Oct – CARDIFF   –  St David’s Hal
Sun 31 Oct – SOUTHAMPTON  – 02 Guildhall
Tues 2 Nov – BELFAST – Ulster Hall
Thurs 4 Nov -DUBLIN – Vicar Street
Sat 6 Nov – GALWAY – Black Box Theatre
Wed 10 Nov -READING  – Hexagon
Thurs 11 Nov – EXETER – University Great Hall
Fri 12 Nov – BRISTOL – 02 Academy
Tues 16 Nov – GUILDFORD – G Live
Thurs 18 Nov -CAMBRIDGE – Corn Exchange
Fri 19 Nov  -NOTTINGHAM  – Rock City
Sat 20 Nov – MANCHESTER  – Albert Hall
Sun 21 Nov – SHEFFIELD – City Hall
Tues 23 Nov – BRIGHTON-  Dome
Thurs 25 Nov – SOUTHEND-ON-SEA – Cliffs Pavilion
Fri 26 Nov – FOLKESTONE – Leas Cliff Hall
Sat 27 Nov – LONDON – Roundhouse

Author: Jonathan Aird

Sure, I could climb high in a tree, or go to Skye on my holiday. I could be happy. All I really want is the excitement of first hearing The Byrds, the amazement of decades of Dylan's music, or the thrill of seeing a band like The Long Ryders live. That's not much to ask, is it?

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.