Old Crow Medicine Show “best of” collection will include new material

ocmsRolling Stone Country reports: “It’s hard to believe, but it’s been 12 years since Old Crow Medicine Show released their studio debut O.C.M.S., having spent several years busking and playing festivals before signing a record deal in the early 2000s. To celebrate, the Grammy-winning band is releasing Best Of, a 14-song collection of some of their most beloved songs due out via Nettwerk on February 10th. 

The compilation features songs from three of the band’s albums under Nettwerk, including O.C.M.S.(2004), Big Iron World (2006) and Tennessee Pusher (2008). Tracks include favorites like “Down Home Girl,” “I Hear Them All,” and their biggest success, “Wagon Wheel,” a Platinum-selling O.C.M.S. track that also became a Number One country hit for Darius Rucker in 2013. Old Crow frontman Ketch Secor wrote that song using an unfinished bootleg from Bob Dylan, who is credited as co-writer on the song.

Best Of also includes two previously unreleased tracks, “Black-Haired Québécoise” and “Heart Up in the Sky.” A limited vinyl package of the collection will include a four-page lyric insert and bonus 7-inch disc.

Since Tennessse Pusher, Old Crow has released two additional studio albums, 2012’s Carry Me Back and 2014’s Remedy, both via ATO Records.

The band will play a sold-out show at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on New Year’s Eve. Earlier this year, they took fans behind-the-scenes of last year’s New Year’s Eve Ryman show, a tradition Old Crow has maintained since 2009.

“I don’t wanna ring in the New Year downtown in front of 100,000 people,” Secor told Rolling Stone Country. “I wanna do it here at the Ryman. That’s where I belong. And there’s where this music belongs. And that’s where Nashville belongs.”

Here is the Best Of track listing:

1. Wagon Wheel
2. Tell It to Me
3. Down Home Girl
4. Alabama High-Test
5. Big Time in the Jungle
6. CC Rider
7. Take ‘Em Away
8. Humdinger
9. Fall On My Knees
10. My Good Gal
11. I Hear Them All
12. Caroline
13. Black-Haired Québécoise
14. Heart Up in the Sky”

About Mark Whitfield 2006 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments