Ryan Adams contributes to new covers album

Although happen you won’t see many of the other names on AUK anytime soon. Also, Cyndi Lauper’s Christmas Conga must rank in the top 100 worst songs ever recorded. Stereogum reports: “Earlier this year, Tegan And Sara announced that they would be releasing a The Con covers album in honor of its 10th anniversary. Today, they’ve released the list of who is covering what and it’s pretty wild! Ryan Adams, Hayley Williams, CHVRCHES, Bleachers, Shura, Shamir, Mykki Blanco, Cyndi Lauper, and more are all contributing, plus there’s a team-up between Grimes and Hana called Trashique. The Con X: Covers will be out digitally on 10/20 and on vinyl 12/22. Proceeds from the album will go towards the Tegan And Sara Foundation. Here’s the tracklist:

01 Ruth B. – “I Was Married”
02 MUNA – “Relief Next To Me”
03 Shura – “The Con”
04 Mykki Blanco – “Knife Going In”
05 PVRIS – “Are You Ten Years Ago”
06 Ryan Adams – “Back In Your Head”
07 City And Colour – “Hop A Plane”
08 Kelly Lee Owens – “Soil, Soil”
09 Bleachers – “Burn Your Life Down”
10 Hayley Williams of Paramore – “Nineteen”
11 Sara Bareilles – “Floorplan”
12 Shamir – “Like O, Like H”
13 Trashique (Grimes x HANA) – “Dark Come Soon”
14 CHVRCHES – “Call It Off”
15 Cyndi Lauper – “Back In Your Head” (Bonus Track)
16 Bleached – “One Second” (Bonus Track)
17 Vivek Shraya – “I Take All The Blame” (Bonus Track)
18 Tegan And Sara – “Miami Still” (Bonus Track Demo)”

>>> Please help to support musicians affected by the coronavirus crisis in the UK by donating £2 a month to us - we'll send you an exclusive 20 track curated playlist every month plus the opportunity to win tickets and CDs. Click here for more information.

>>> Are you a new or emerging artist seeking some exposure? - find out about our new Twang Factor here

Author: Mark Whitfield

Mark Whitfield has been the Editor of Americana UK for the last 19 years and still feels like this is his pretend job, mainly because it is.

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.