Sounds of the New West Volume 5 out with new Uncut

For those of us who have been around long enough, you’ll remember that way back in the sands of time, two decades ago in fact, Uncut had a cover-mounted CD called Sounds of the New West which was instrumental in a lot of people’s introduction to the americana genre. Anyway several lifetimes later, and the new Uncut, in shops tomorrow, has the latest volume (5 if you’re counting) which includes tracks from Drive By Truckers, James Elkington, Erin Rae, Bonny Light Horseman, Courtney Marie Andrews, Jeremy Ivey and Tyler Childers among others. The CD contains 15 tracks in total. Of course you can have your very own Sounds of the New West delivered to your electronic mailbox once a month by becoming a supporter of Americana UK (although not sadly via the medium of a shiny new CD).

While you ponder how the times they are a changing, cast your mind back to this little gem from the original compilation.

>>> Please help to support musicians affected by the coronavirus crisis in the UK by donating £2 a month to us - we'll send you an exclusive 20 track curated playlist every month plus the opportunity to win tickets and CDs. Click here for more information.

>>> Are you a new or emerging artist seeking some exposure? - find out about our new Twang Factor here

Author: Mark Whitfield

Mark Whitfield has been the Editor of Americana UK for the last 19 years and still feels like this is his pretend job, mainly because it is.

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.