Steve Earle to be inducted into Songwriters’ Hall of Fame

Steve Earle was announced Monday as a 2020 inductee into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame — although his honours and those of everyone else inducted this year will have to wait a while because of the pandemic: this year’s and next year’s will be inducted together as part of a double-bill ceremony scheduled for November 2021. The other inductees include ‘Ode to Billie Joe’ singer-songwriter Bobbie Gentry, Kent Blazy (‘If Tomorrow Never Comes‘), Brett James (‘Jesus Take The Wheel’ – not the amazing Sam Outlaw song sadly) and Spooner Oldham (‘I’m Your Puppet’).

For 1st November next year, the organisation is planning “a special double-sized event” that will include the five inductees plus the ones yet to be announced next year, simultaneously celebrating the Hall of Fame’s 50th and 51st anniversaries.

Nominations were announced in September and additionally included Shawn Camp, Don Henry, Tony Martin, Steve Seskin, Tia SIllers, George Teren, Kix Brooks, Steven Curtis Chapman and Phil Vassar.

>>> Please help to support the running costs of Americana UK, run by a dedicated team in our spare time, by donating £2 a month to us - we'll send you an exclusive 20 track curated playlist every month plus the opportunity to win our monthly giveaway. Click here for more information.

About Mark Whitfield 1792 Articles
Mark Whitfield has been Editor of Americana UK for the last 20 years while also working in public health as his day job, which has been kind of busy recently.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.