Tim O’Brien announces new album, UK dates

Grammy winning singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Tim O’Brien has announced a new album “Where the River Meets the Road” which will be released in the UK on 12th May.  The album features songs from his native West Virginia, bluegrass and Americana covers from songwriters Hazel Dickens, Billy Edd Wheeler and Bill Withers alongside autobiographical originals with help from collaborators like Chris Stapleton, Kathy Mattea, Stuart Duncan and Noam Pikelny. He has performed or recorded in the past with Steve Earle, Mark Knopfler, Bill Frisell, and Steve Martin, and if all that’s not enough, he’s also produced records for Yonder Mountain String Band, David Bromberg, and Canada’s Old Man Luedecke.  The arrogance of the man. 

If you want to whet your appetite for the new record, you can catch him live across the UK in May with Toronto songwriter Kaia Kater in tow.  Here are those dates.

Tim O’Brien UK Dates 2017

Wed 3rd May, LEICESTER – The Guildhall
Thur 4th May, LONDON – Bush Hall
Sun 7th May, BALTIMOR – Baltimor Fiddle Fair
Fri 12th May, SLIGO – Hawkswell Theatre
Sat 13th May, FINGAL – Seamus Ennis Arts Centre
Wed 17th May, GLASGOW – St Andrew’s in the Square
Thu 18th May, EDINBURGH – Teviot Debating Hall
Fri 19th May, SALTAIRE – The Live Room
Sat 20th May, BURY – The Met
Sun 21st May, SHEFFIELD – Greystones

Please help to support americana in the UK by donating £2 a month to us - we'll send you an exclusive 20 track curated playlist every month plus the opportunity to win tickets and CDs. Click here for more information.

Author: Mark Whitfield

Mark Whitfield has been the Editor of Americana UK for the last 17 years and still feels like this is his pretend job, mainly because it is.

1 thought on “Tim O’Brien announces new album, UK dates”

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.