AMA announces its line-up for 2019 awards ceremony

The 18th annual Americana Honors & Awards is happening next month over in Nashville and they have announced the performing lineup for their big ceremony which takes place on the 11th. The list includes (deep breath…) John Prine, Brandi Carlile, Mavis Staples,  Jade Bird, Erin Rae, the War and Treaty, Yola, Rhiannon Giddens, Our Native Daughters, I’m With Her, Mark Erelli, Lori McKenna, Maria Muldaur, J.S. Ondara,  Amanda Shires and last but not least one of AUK’s favourites, Ruston Kelly who has hopefully moved on to vaping since the press-shot. A press release announcing the lineup also mentioned “surprise guests” – let’s hope they mean Steve Earle and not Ray Quinn.

The awards will be taped for an Austin City Limits special which will air on PBS in the US on November 23rd. Our very own Elvis Costello and bluesman Delbert McClinton will each receive lifetime achievement honours at the awards, alongside Muldaur and Felice and Boudleaux Bryant. Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan aka The Milk Carton Kids return to host the ceremonies which is great news as if they ever dry up musically they could become a comedy double act.

Brandi Carlile, Rhiannon Giddens, Kacey Musgraves, and Mavis Staples have been nominated for Artist of the Year, and the album of the year nominations include ‘To the Sunset’ (Amanda Shires), ‘The Tree’ (Lori McKenna), ‘The Tree of Forgiveness’ (John Prine), and ‘Walk Through Fire’ (Yola). AUK will be at the awards for some ear to the ground UK coverage.


About Mark Whitfield 2039 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments