AMA-UK Awards cancelled – award ceremony to be streamed online

The Americana Music Association UK (AMA-UK) has, with great regret, announced that UK Americana Music Week, due to take place in Hackney, London over January 24-27th, has been cancelled. This is due to the current COVID-19 situation and the prevalence of the Omnicron variant. However, the 2022 UK Americana Awards will now air online and is free to view for everyone on YOUTUBE on the 27th of January at 7 pm.

Viewers can register to watch the stream here.

In her official statement, AMA-UK CEO, Stevie Smith said:

On behalf of the AMA UK board I am bringing you news today that breaks my heart – regretfully due to the recent developments with the Omicron variant worldwide, our international partners have had to pull out of being at our event and this has had a knock-on effect that makes the event unviable. That, along with hospital cases rising at rapid rates, the pandemic seems to still be far from at its peak here in the UK. The board has decided that in the absence of Government guidance we have to make this difficult decision ourselves and that the only safe and sensible thing to do at this late stage is to cancel UK Americana Music Week for 2022. This has been an incredibly difficult decision to make because, as you know, keeping the genre vibrant and giving you all a platform to showcase your music is our highest priority, but this is now out of our hands and we have no real choice but to take this path. Our 2023 dates are confirmed for January 23rd-26th so mark that in PEN in your diaries now. “

The online ceremony will celebrate this year’s nominees and award winners, with many exclusive performances from global artists. Baylen Leonard and Whispering Bob Harris are once again hosting this star-studded show. This year’s guests include Sid Griffin of The Long Ryders, the house band led by Michele Stodart (The Magic Numbers), Lauren Housley, Allison Russell, Lady Nade, Elles Bailey, and Sierra Ferrell Amythyst Kiah, Memorial, The Wandering Hearts, Aaron Lee Tasjan.

A complete list of award recipients can be found here.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments