Cowboy Junkies announce new album covering their favourite artists

Photo by Heather Pollock

Cowboy Junkies have announced their new album ‘Songs of Recollection‘ will be released on March 25th on Proper Records. This covers compilation is the latest in a career spanning 30 years since they formed in Toronto in 1985. The album includes nine tracks by the band’s favourite artists, including Gordon Lightfoot, Gram Parsons, Neil Young, and Bob Dylan.

Long before we were musicians, we were music fans“, says Michael Timmins. “We didn’t grow up sitting around the kitchen table playing instruments and harmonizing. We grew up sitting around the record player listening to each other’s record collections and having our minds blown. This was the passion that we shared.”.

1. Five Years – David Bowie
2. Ooh Las Vegas * – Gram Parsons
3. No Expectations – Mick Jagger and Keith Richards
4. Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Neil Young
5. Love In Mind – Neil Young
6. The Way I Feel * – Gordon Lightfoot
7. I’ve Made Up My Mind To Give Myself To You – Bob Dylan
8. Marathon * – Vic Chesnutt
9. Seventeen Seconds * – Laurence Andrew Tolhurst (The Cure)

*Previously commercially released.

Songs of Recollection‘ will be available on CD and vinyl and can be preordered from the artist’s website or your local record shop.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rob Kendrew

About time. The absolute masters of the creative and innovative cover. Their Ooh Las Vegas (from the 1999 Gram tribute album) is a thing of beauty to be savoured loud through headphones. I’m such a fanboy that I once waited after a CJ gig just to let Margo know how much I appreciated that track and she graciously agreed “It came out pretty good didn’t it?”. Glad it’ll get a wider hearing now.