Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit announce new album for the summer

Photo Credit: Danny Clinch

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit have announced their latest album, ‘Weathervanes‘, which will be released on June 9th via Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers. This, the ex-Drive-by Truckers’ ninth album, comes after the band’s covers album ‘Georgia Blue‘ was released in 2021. The album was produced by Isbell and recorded at Nashville’s Blackbird Studio. ‘Weathervanes’ includes the brand new single ‘Death Wish‘. Special guests include Grammy winner Amanda Shires and acclaimed harmonicist Mickey Raphael, with background vocals on ‘If You Insist‘ by producer and engineer Sylvia Massy & Ian Rickard and with strings on ‘Death Wish‘ by Morgan O’Shaughnessy.

There is something about boundaries on this record,” said Isbell. “As you mature, you still attempt to keep the ability to love somebody fully and completely while you’re growing into an adult and learning how to love yourself.“.


1 – Death Wish
2 – King of Oklahoma
3 – Strawberry Woman
4 – Middle Of The Morning
5 – Save The World
6 – If You Insist
7 – Cast Iron Skillet
8 – When We Were Close
9 – Volunteer
10 – Vestavia Hills
11 – White Beretta
12 – This Ain’t It
13 – Miles

The album will be available on deluxe and standard vinyl, cd, and your favourite streaming platform. You can pre-order the album in all its forms via this link. Isbell is touring the US later this year; check his website for any changes (i.e., UK dates).

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments