John Murry announces new album, UK summer dates

John Murry’s new album “A Short History of Decay” is out in July and he’s announced a handful of gigs/festival dates around the UK to promote it, one of which is tonight if you’re lively. The album was recorded in Toronto and produced by Michael Timmins of The Cowboy Junkies, also featuring Peter Timmins (Cowboy Junkies) on drums and Josh Finlayson (Skydiggers, Gord Downie, Lee Harvey Osmond) on bass along with Cait O’Riordan (The Pogues, Elvis Costello). The album’s release date of 14th July was chosen because it is Bastille Day, and because of the French connections to the book “A Short History Of Decay” where John took the title from. There’ll be a new single released on the same day too called “Under a Darker Moon.” Here’s those dates and the track listing for the album.

John Murry Summer 2017 Dates

Thursday 4 May – Sandinos Bar, Derry, Northern Ireland
Saturday 6th & Sunday 7th May – Cathedral Quarter Arts Festival, Belfast
Friday 14th July – Rhythm Tree Festival, Isle Of Wight
Wednesday 19th July – The Slaughtered Lamb, London
Saturday 22nd July –  St Mary’s Church, Guildford

Track Listing for A Short History of Decay

1. Silver Or Lead
2. Under A Darker Moon
3. Wrong Man
4. Defacing Sunday Bulletins
5. When God Walks In
6. Come Five & Twenty
7. One Day (You’ll Die)
8. Countess Lola’s Blues
(All In This Together)
9. Miss Magdalene
10. What Jail Is Like

>>> Please help to support musicians affected by the coronavirus crisis in the UK by donating £2 a month to us - we'll send you an exclusive 20 track curated playlist every month plus the opportunity to win tickets and CDs. Click here for more information.

>>> Are you a new or emerging artist seeking some exposure? - find out about our new Twang Factor here

Author: Mark Whitfield

Mark Whitfield has been the Editor of Americana UK for the last 17 years and still feels like this is his pretend job, mainly because it is.

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.