Nitty Gritty Dirt Band cover Dylan on new album

For their next album those roots and Americana stalwarts the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – now five decades into their musical journey – will be releasing an album of Dylan covers, done in a Dirt Band style.  It’s called ‘Dirt Does Dylan’ and is out on May 20th.  It’s an album that answers that perennial Dylan concert shout out “play something old“, as the ten songs are taken from Dylan’s earlier days.  As well as the grizzled veterans of the Dirt Band’s first half century, additional players have been pulled in with fiddle specialist Ross Holmes; singer-songwriter and bass player Jim Photoglo (who wrote one of the Dirt Band’s biggest hits, ‘Fishin’ in the Dark‘); and Dirt Band founder Jeff Hanna’s son, singer and guitarist Jaime Hanna, being added to the line-up.  And, like all good parties, there will be guests – including Larkin Poe who feature on this version of ‘I Shall Be Released.’   It’s really rather good.

Dirt Does Dylan Tracklist

1. Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here with You
2. Girl from the North Country
3. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry
4. Country Pie
5. I Shall Be Released (ft. Larkin Poe)
6. She Belongs to Me
7. Forever Young
8. The Times They Are A-Changin’ (ft. Rosanne Cash, Jason Isbell, Steve Earle, and The War and Treaty)
9. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
10. Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)

About Jonathan Aird 2722 Articles
Sure, I could climb high in a tree, or go to Skye on my holiday. I could be happy. All I really want is the excitement of first hearing The Byrds, the amazement of decades of Dylan's music, or the thrill of seeing a band like The Long Ryders live. That's not much to ask, is it?
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The third track has surely one of the best song titles after My Baby Thinks Shes’ a Train.