Teenage Fanclub return with new album “Endless Arcade” – Listen

The ever lovely Teenage Fanclub have announced the release of a new album ‘Endless Arcade’, their first release since 2016’s ‘Here’ and their first since the departure of long time band member Gerard Love (although they now have former Gorkyer Euros Childs).  You can watch the video to the first track ‘Home’ to be taken from it below. The was video filmed by Donald Milne at Edinburgh’s Leith Theatre a few days ago.

Raymond McGinley from the Fannies told Uncut: “I think of an endless arcade as a city that you can wander through, with a sense of mystery, an imaginary one that goes on forever… When it came to choosing an album title, it seemed to have something for this collection of songs. The process is much the same as it always has been. In 1989 we went into a studio in Glasgow to make our first LP. Francis starts setting up his drums, the rest of us find our spots around him and off we go. Thirty years later Francis is setting up his drums in Clouds Hill Recordings in Hamburg. A few hours later we’re recording the first song. We don’t conceptualise, we don’t talk about it, we just do it. Each of us are thinking our own thoughts, but we don’t do much externalising. We just feel our way into it.”

The album will be released on the Merge label on 5th March (or May 3rd – we can’t tell which way the date is written sorry) on translucent green, yellow or clear vinyl, CD and limited cassette, with sleeve art by Huw Evans AKA H Hawkline.

Home Tracklist

01 “Home”
02 “Endless Arcade”
03 “Warm Embrace”
04 “Everything Is Falling Apart”
05 “The Sun Won’t Shine On Me”
06 “Time”
07 “In Our Dreams”
08 “I’m More Inclined”
09 “Back In The Day”
10 Teenage Fanclub – The Future”
11 “Living With You”
12 “Silent Song”

About Mark Whitfield 2019 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments