The Fugitives announce European album release and UK tour dates

Photo: Kristine Cofsky

The Fugitives are a Vancouver-based acoustic folk-roots group headed by songwriters Adrian Glynn and Brendan McLeod, and joined by banjo player Chris Suen (Viper Central) and violinist Carly Frey (The Coal Porters). They released their sixth album, ‘No Help Coming,‘ last year.

The record is about living in the climate emergency.  The normal human and events and feelings are present – fraught friendships (‘Dead Money’), career changes (‘Wing and a Prayer’), coping mecha­nisms (‘Not Burning Out’), romance (‘It Might Just Rain Like This For Days’) – but all under the spectre of environmental disaster.  “There’s still a tendency to create in a vacuum,” says Adrian Glynn. “To write a love song as if our province wasn’t engulfed in smoke. Or, to write just about that smoke, and not about being in love at the same time as you’re breathing it in.”

‘No Help Coming’ has a European release date of 7th June on Fallen Tree Records.  You can listen to the title track below and in the meantime, in tandem with their album release The Fugitives have announced some 2024 UK tour dates as follows:

Thu 27 Jun – Bury – The Met
Fri 28 Jun – Robin Hood’s Bay – The Old School House
Sat 29 Jun – Aldeburgh, Suffolk – Jubilee Hall
Sun 30 Jun – Bristol – Folk House Cafe & Bar
Tue 2 Jul – Wavendon, Milton Keynes – The Stables
Thu 4 Jul – Shrewsbury – St. Mary’s Church
Fri 5 Jul – Settle, N. Yorkshire – Settle Victoria Hall
Sat 6 Jul – Kirklington, Notts. – Gate To Southwell Festival 2024
Sun 7 Jul – Birmingham – Kitchen Garden Café
Mon 8 Jul – Eaglescliffe, Stockton 0/Tees  The Waiting Room
Wed 10 Jul – London – Conway Hall
Thu 11 Jul – Petworth, W. Sussex – Leconfield Hall, Petworth Festival 2024
Fri 12 Jul – Priddy, Somerset – Priddy Folk Festival 2024
Sat 13 Jul – Stroud – Subscription Rooms
Sun 14 Jul – Ely – Ely Folk Festival 2024
Mon 15 Jul – Great Massingham – Great Massingham Village Hall

Links for tickets can be found here.

About Richard Parkinson 127 Articles
London based self-diagnosed music junkie with tastes extending to all points of big tent americana and beyond. Fan of acts and songs rather than genres.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments