Hat Fitz and Cara on tour in May

Some might say that they are the odd couple of low-down pre-war style country Blues but the gutsy Australian guitarist and Irish-born Cara compliment each other perfectly. Admittedly some of the compliments are a bit backhanded or a trifle waspish, but it’s all in good part and in service to the music.  And what music – gorgeously gritty guitar and banjo with low down growled vocals from Hat Fitz and soaring vocals, whistles and all the percussion from Cara Robinson. 

They’re a force on the Australian music circuit, and their annual European tour will be bringing them to the UK and Ireland this May. Their gleeful take on the blues is hard to resist – and really there’s no actual reason to resist. Resist the opportunity to hear great music – including songs from their new album After the Rain – why would you do that ?

Catch them at any of these great venues:

Mon May 1: Cock Inn, Rickmansworth
Tue May 2: Worthing Pier Southern Pavilion, Worthing
Wed May 3: Lowdham Village Hall, Notts
Thurs May 4: Green Note, London
May 5: The Greystones, Sheffield
May 6: Village Hall, Kings Somborne
Sun May 7: Chidham & Hambrook Village Hall, Chidham, West Sussex
Mon May 8: The Bellows @ The Wheelwright Inn, Colyford, East Devon
Wed May 10: Willows Folk Club near Preston
Thurs May 11: The Regency Hall, Saundersfoot, Pembs
Fri May 12: SparC Theatre, Bishops Castle, Shropshire
Sat May 13: Birnam Arts Centre, Perthshire
Sun May 14: Harbour Arts centre, Irvine
Mon May 15: Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh
Wed May 17: Balor Arts, Ballybofey, Co Donegal
Thurs May 18: Antrim Gardens
Fri May 19: The Black Box, Belfast
Sat May 20: Seamus Ennis Centre, Naul, Co Dublin

Author: Jonathan Aird

Sure, I could climb high in a tree, or go to Skye on my holiday. I could be happy. All I really want is the excitement of first hearing The Byrds, the amazement of decades of Dylan's music, or the thrill of seeing a band like The Long Ryders live. That's not much to ask, is it?

Leave a Reply