Chatham County Line to release covers album – March

Hailed by Paste magazine as ”bluegrass innovators,” Raleigh, North Carolina-based quartet Chatham County Line have announced the release of their eighth studio album, ‘Sharing The Covers’, due March 8th on Yep Roc Records. The video for the first single, Wilco’s “I Got You (At the End of the Century),” premiered today which you can see below. Paying homage to Wilco on the first single, the band gives the song a bluegrass vibe complete with a splash of banjo.

Dave Wilson of the band said: “This Wilco tune is a prime example of how Sharing the Covers pulls cover songs directly from our setlists through the years. We had performed this tune back in 2005 at the release show celebrating our second album, Route 23, and hadn’t really revisited it since. When we were setting up in the studio to record some new material, the engineer asked us to test the levels on the microphones and somehow this song came out. We are still in awe of the great job Wilco does in creating moments in the studio… they are a great inspiration for any band attempting to weather the years.”

Recorded at Durham, NC’s Overdub Lane studio, where they cut their first album, 2010’s ‘Wildwood’, and where a few tracks from 2016’s ‘Autumn’ were recorded, the 13-track collection was engineered by Chris Boerner, who also engineers the band’s live shows. Taking the familiar and adding a touch of bluegrass, the band’s classic covers include tracks by Tom Petty, John Lennon, The Rolling Stones, The Louvin Brothers, Beck, and more.

Here’s the tracklisting:

1 I Got You (At the End of the Century) – Wilco
2 People Gonna Talk – James Hunter
3 Walk Don’t Run – Johnny Smith
4 My Baby’s Gone – Hazel Houser
5 Bumblebee – Leo Kottke
6 Think I’m in Love – Beck
7 You Don’t Know How it Feels – Tom Petty
8 Girl on the Billboard – Walter Haynes/Hank Mills
9 Think of What You’ve Done – Carter Stanley
10 Watching the Wheels – John Lennon
11 Tear Down the Grand Ole Opry – John Hartford / Tut Taylor
12 The Last Time – Mick Jagger / Keith Richards
13 Lay Down My Old Guitar – Alton Delmore

About Mark Whitfield 2018 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments