Marianne Faithfull’s classic album “Vagabond Ways” to be reissued

Photo by François Guillot 2016.
BMG has announced the reissuing of Marianne Faithfull’s 1999 album ‘Vagabond Ways‘ on March 4th. The reissue, originally recorded at Teatro Studios in California and produced by Mark Howard and Daniel Lanois, will include a selection of previously unreleased bonus demos and an unheard studio recording, plus new liner notes. The album will be released as heavyweight vinyl for the first time and also be available on CD and digital formats.
Vagabond Ways‘ was Faithfull’s first album containing original material after a 5-year gap; in between which her biography ‘Faithfull’was released, as well as her recording of the Kurt Weill opera ‘The Seven Deadly Sins’. Many of the stories on this album were adapted from memories that did not make the biography. Other tracks include an interpretation of Leonard Cohen’s ‘Tower of Song‘, a track gifted to her from the Pink Floyd vaults by Roger Waters (‘Incarceration of a Flower Child‘), and ‘For Wanting You‘, written for her by songwriting duo Elton John and Bernie Taupin.
Bonus material on the album include an unheard Marianne Faithfull and Daniel Lanois composition, ‘Drifting‘, recorded at the time of the original sessions but left off the final album, as well as demo recordings of ‘Vagabond Ways‘, ‘Incarceration of a Flower Child’, ‘Electra‘, and ‘Tower of Song‘. The reissue also includes the Bob Dylan penned ‘Blood In My Eyes‘, included on a physical format for the first time outside of its original release as a bonus track on the Japanese version.

1 – Vagabond Ways
2 – Incarceration of a Flower Child
3 – File It Under Fun from the Past
4 – Electra
5 – Wilder Shores of Love
6 – Marathon Kiss
7- For Wanting You
8 – Great Expectations
9 – Tower of Song
10 – After the Ceasefire
(bonus tracks available on CD and digital release)
11 – Blood In My Eyes (Original Japanese edition bonus track)
12 – Drifting (Previously unreleased recording)
13 – Vagabond Ways (Demo)
14 – Incarceration of a Flower Child (Demo)
15 – Electra (Demo)
16 – Tower of Song (Demo)

The album can be preordered on the artist’s website.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments