Emmylou Harris and Rosanne Cash appear on live tribute album

What a line up this record has, the next best thing to being there (or going back in time). Rolling Stone reports: “With songs that have been recorded by an impressive range of artists from George Jones, Skeeter Davis and Roy Orbison to the Raiders, Jefferson Airplane and Kanye West, writer and artist John D. Loudermilk was one of the most diverse and prolific tunesmiths of the 20th century. The author of such iconic hits as “Tobacco Road,” “Indian Reservation,” “Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye” and “Abilene,” was the subject of a stellar tribute concert in March 2016 at the Franklin Theatre south of Nashville. Now, an album of that event featuring Emmylou Harris, Rosanne Cash, Rodney Crowell and many more, is set for a September 15th release. See the track listing below. 

Hosted by songwriter and music historian Peter Cooper, A Tribute to John D. Loudermilk features two dozen performances of songs penned by Loudermilk, who, although ailing at the time, was on hand for the event. With inspired performances of some of Loudermilk’s pop, rock and country material, Cooper summed up the eclectic tribute to the songwriter by noting, “He wasn’t just a seeker of truth and beauty, he was a finder. He found it, he learned it, he kept it, and then he shared it with us seekers.”

A native of North Carolina, Loudermilk was signed to a solo record deal with Columbia in 1958 and later recorded for RCA. Inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1976, Loudermilk died September 21st, 2016, in Christiana, Tennessee, at 82 years old.

Produced by Grammy-winning musician John Jorgenson and organized by Dixie Gamble, a film of the tribute concert will air as a PBS special.

A Tribute to John D. Loudermilk track listing:

1. “Everybody Knows,” Harry Stinson
2. “Tobacco Road,” Rodney Crowell
3. “Where Have They Gone,” Emmylou Harris
4. “Blue Train,” Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver
5. “Windy and Warm,” Tommy Emmanuel
6. “Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye,” Rosanne Cash
7. “Midnight Bus,” John Jorgenson
8. “Heaven Fell Last Night,” The Whites with Ricky Skaggs
9. “It’s My Time,” Herb Pedersen
10. “Ebony Eyes,” Cory Chisel and Adriel Danae
11. “Bad News,” Jimmy Hall
12. “Abilene,” Mike Loudermilk
13. “Waterloo,” Ricky Skaggs with the Whites
14. “Sad Movies,” Deborah Allen
15. “Language of Love,” Beth Nielsen Chapman
16. “Mr. Jones,” Lee Roy Parnell
17. “Break My Mind,” Bobby Braddock
18. “Big Daddy’s Alabama Bound,” Buddy Greene
19. “Indian Reservation,” John McFee
20. “Turn Me On,” Beth Hooker
21. “Talk Back Trembling Lips,” Becky Hobbs
22. “Sunglasses,” Claudia Church
23. “The Great Snowman,” Norro Wilson
24. “I Wanna Live,” John Cowan ”

About Mark Whitfield 2019 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments