Neil Young exhumes rare solo acoustic album “Hitchhiker”

Some exciting news from Consequence of Sound this morning: “On September 8th, Neil Young will open up his vaults to reveal a previously unreleased solo acoustic album. Titled Hitchhiker, it was originally recorded back in 1976 and spans 10 tracks, including two that have never been commercially released until now. Hitchhiker was recorded at Indigo Studios in Malibu, California in just one single session. The legendary songwriter was accompanied by longtime producer David Brings, and post production duties were later handled by John Hanlon, who has worked with Young since 1990. A number of the LP’s cuts are early versions of songs that would eventually appear on vinyl some decades later, such as the title track and “Captain Kennedy”. Of particular note are two tracks, “Hawaii” and Give Me Strength”, which have been officially pulled out of Young’s archives for the first time. Below, listen to the title track:

Hitchhiker follows Young’s pair of 2016 albums, the Promise of the Real-featuring EARTHand Peace Trail. Last month, he reconvened with Promise of the Real for a new song and video called “Children of Destiny”.

Find the artwork and full tracklist below.

Hitchhiker Tracklist:

01. Pocahontas
02. Powderfinger
03. Captain Kennedy
04. Hawaii
05. Give Me Strength
06. Ride My Llama
07. Hitchhiker
08. Campaigner
09. Human Highway
10. The Old Country Waltz

>>> Please help to support the running costs of Americana UK, run by a dedicated team in our spare time, by donating £2 a month to us - we'll send you an exclusive 20 track curated playlist every month plus the opportunity to win our monthly giveaway. Click here for more information.

About Mark Whitfield 1822 Articles
Mark Whitfield has been Editor of Americana UK for the last 20 years while also working in public health as his day job, which has been kind of busy recently.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.