Old Crow Medicine Show announce new album “Jubilee”

Watch the video for the first single below.

Old Crow Medicine Show, or OCMS if you’re in a hurry, have announced the release of their new album ‘Jubilee’ which lands in the UK on 25th August via ATO Records. Arriving as the two-time GRAMMY award-winning band gears up to celebrate their 25th anniversary, ‘Jubilee’ finds the group once again co-producing with Matt Ross-Spang (Drive-By Truckers, St. Paul & the Broken Bones) and recording at their own Hartland Studios. The album features appearances from legendary soul singer Mavis Staples and singer/songwriter Sierra Ferrell. Along with the announcement, the band shares the debut single ‘Miles Away’, a reflective track co-written by bandleader Ketch Secor and bluegrass virtuoso Molly Tuttle, with guest vocals from Old Crow Medicine Show co-founder Willie Watson. Watch it below.

About the debut single, Ketch Secor explains: “This is one of those rearview songs where objects in the mirror are closer than they appear. 25 years of making music on the road means you’re always coming back to the same places as a different person; there’s a reminder of your past self and the choices you made back when. Molly Tuttle and I wrote this one together and when it was through, I asked my Old Crow co-founder Willie Watson to make his first appearance on an Old Crow record in years. After all, this is a song about amends, of bygones being bygones, and of renewal.”

‘Miles Away’ marks the first time Willie Watson has recorded with Old Crow Medicine Show in over 10 years. He will hit the road with the band this fall, performing as an opening act in addition to joining them on stage.  The band’s eighth studio album serves as somewhat of a companion piece to their critically acclaimed 2022 release ‘Paint This Town’, which hit #1 on the Americana Radio Albums Chart and debuted at the top of Billboard’s Bluegrass Albums Chart. The group appeared on NPR’s World Cafe and CBS Saturday Morning, and garnered acclaim from Associated Press, Consequence, SPIN, Rolling Stone and NPR Music, who raved, “If this is any indication of what Old Crow Medicine Show still has in store so many recordings in its career, we should count ourselves lucky.”  We were pretty sweet on it too.

‘Jubilee’ Tracklist:

1. Ballad of Jubilee Jones
2. Miles Away (ft. Willie Watson)
3. Keel Over and Die
4. Allegheny Lullaby
5. I Want It Now
6. Smoky Mountain Girl
7. Belle Meade Cockfight (ft. Sierra Ferrell)
8. Shit Kicked In
9. Daughter of the Highlands
10. Wolfman of the Ozarks
11. Nameless, TN
12. One Drop (ft. Mavis Staples)

About Mark Whitfield 2037 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments