Ron Sexsmith previews 2023 album with brand new single

Ron Sexsmith has announced their latest album ‘The Vivian Line‘ will be released in February. This, the Canadian’s sixteenth album, comes after ‘Hermitage’ was released in 2020. The album was produced by Brad Jones (Josh Rouse, Cotton Mather, Chuck Prophet, Matthew Sweet, Imperial Drag, Jill Sobule, and Marshall Crenshaw).

Explaining the album, Sexsmith says: “The Vivian Line is a rural route right near where we live in Stratford (Ontario). Whenever we have to get out of the city, we jump on The Vivian Line, and it dumps us out onto the highway. I wondered about the name when we first moved there and thought it was intriguing… it represents escaping from our old life in Toronto to this new phase we’re in. And it’s also like a portal to my old life when I have to get back there. I recorded it (The Vivian Line) with Brad Jones in Nashville. (Brad played bass on 3 of my earlier records, “Other Songs”, “Whereabouts”, and “Blue Boy”) and it’s a very lush-sounding almost baroque pop record. (a distant cousin of “Whereabouts). The songs were mostly inspired by this stage in life that I find myself in and trying to figure it all out.“.

The album will be available on vinyl, cd, and your favourite streaming platform. You can pre-order the album from the artist’s website.


01 – Place Called Love
02 – What I Had in Mind
03 – Flower Boxes
04 – Outdated and Antiquated
05 – Diamond Wave
06 – Powder Blue
07 – One Bird Calling
08 – Country Mile
09 – This, That and the Other Thing
10 – A Barn Conversion
11 – When our Love was New
12 – Ever Wonder

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments