Devil Makes Three return with “Chains Are Broken” – August

The Devil Makes Three is set to return with their new album ‘Chains Are Broken’ which is out on August 24th via New West Records.  The 11-song set was produced by Ted Hutt (Gaslight Anthem, Flogging Molly) and recorded at Sonic Ranch Studios in El Paso, TX. It’s the band’s first album of original material since 2013’s ‘I’m A Stranger Here’ and follows their 2016 collection of covers ‘Redemption & Ruin’ which heralded the groups second #1 on the Billboard Top Bluegrass Albums Chart.  

Instead of their traditional revolving cast of collaborators in the studio, the band stuck to its signature power trio of Pete Bernhard, Lucia Turino, and Cooper McBean – with one addition.  This time, they invited touring drummer Stefan Amidon to power the bulk of the percussion as the band translated the spirit of their live shows into a studio recording.  In premiering the first music from Chains Are Broken with the song ‘Paint My Face’, Rolling Stone Country stated, “‘Paint My Face’ reflects the extra rock & roll edge that Amidon, the band’s touring drummer, brings to the equation, as the song is a crunchy shuffle with a quivering, cascading electric guitar line.”

“I always want our songs to unfold like short stories,” affirms Pete Bernhard.  “You could think of them as chapters of a book.  This was a much more personal album about what it takes to be a writer of any kind – and what you have to do to make your dream possible.  It was really the headspace I was in.  It might have something to do with getting older.  You start reflecting on life and the people around you.  I was doing that in these songs.  That’s what makes the record more personal.  I’m pulling from these things.  Some of it is about drug addiction.  Some of it is about the things you sacrifice.  Some of it is about the detrimental things we do for inspiration.  Nevertheless, they all have some sort of narrative.”

The Devil Makes Three Chains Are Broken Track Listing:

1. Chains Are Broken
2. Pray For Rain
3. Paint My Face
4. Can’t Stop
5. Need To Lose
6. All Is Quiet
7. Bad Idea
8. Deep Down
9. Native Son
10. Castles
11. Curtains Rise

The Devil Makes Three will also begin touring in support of Chains Are Broken with shows in the UK. Dates are as follows:

Mon 10 Sept – NOTTINGHAM Rock City Basement
Tue 11 Sept – GLASGOW Oran Mor
Wed 12 Sept – MANCHESTER Deaf Institute
Thu 13 Sept – BIRMINGHAM Hare & Hounds
Fri 14 Sept – LONDON Islington Assembly Hall

About Mark Whitfield 2031 Articles
Editor of Americana UK website, the UK's leading home for americana news and reviews since 2001 (when life was simpler, at least for the first 253 days)
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments