Todd Snider to release compilation of live music

Todd Snider has announced the release of his latest album, ‘Live: The Return of the Storyteller’, which will be released in September on his label (Aimless Records) and Thirty Tigers. This, his nineteenth album comes after ‘First Agnostic Church of Hope and Wonder‘ was released in 2021. ‘First Agnostic Church Of Hope and Wonder‘ includes a new live version of ‘Just Like Old Times‘.
With material spanning from his 1994 debut album ‘Songs from the Daily Planet‘ through 2021’s ‘First Agnostic Church of Hope and Wonder‘, Snider uses much of his storytelling to pay homage to friends gone too soon, including John Prine, Jerry Jeff Walker, Neal Casal and Colonel Bruce Hampton. Typical of a Snider live show, his stage banter also veers into one-of-a-kind road tales like conversing with haunted ghost children in California, raising hell with the inventor of Crocs in Montana and misadventures in the woods behind Johnny Cash’s house in Tennessee.
Snider says: “this album is dedicated to all the people who come to these shows. Whether this last tour was the first one you caught you’ve been coming since 94, or you joined the family somewhere in between you have my undying gratitude traveling and singing has been the great joy of my life and it’s not lost on me who makes it possible thank you.“.
The album will be available on deluxe and standard vinyl, CD, and your favourite streaming platform. The deluxe LP bundle includes a notebook and pen, and liner notes with never before seen photos and Snider’s tour diary.

1 – Big Finish
2 – [Col. Bruce Hampton Ret.]
3 – Turn Me Loose (I’II Never Be the Same)
4 – [East Nashville]
5 – Play A Train Song
6 – [Old Man Shakes Fist At Sky]
7 – Too Soon To Tell
8 – Like A Force Of Nature
9 – [John Prine]
10 – Handsome John
11 – [Hard Luck Love Song]
12 – Just Like Old Times
13 – [Spreadneck Speedball]
14 – Roman Candles
15 – The Very Last Time
16 – Sail On, My Friend
17 – [Being Outdoors]
18 – Ballad Of The Devil’s Backbone Tavern
19 – Alright Guy
20 – [Free Bird]
21 – [Sock Water]
22 – Just Like Overnight
23 – [Alan Greenspan]
24 – In Between Jobs
25 – [Where Will I Go]
26 – Working On A Song
27 – Opening Statement

You can pre-order the album from the artist’s website.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments