William the Conqueror announce extensive UK tour

William the Conqueror are set to head out on the road for a 21 date stint, including 4 festival appearances. The trio of Ruarri Joseph (vocals/guitar), Harry Harding (drums) and Naomi Holmes (bass) will feature songs from their second album, ‘Bleeding on the Soundtrack,’ which follows the release of debut ‘Proud Disturber of the Peace’ back in 2017. Both albums are intended to form parts of a trilogy of autobiographical records capturing different periods in Joseph’s life. Whilst ‘Proud Disturber..’ celebrated Ruarri Joseph’s free and easy childhood spent in Cornwall, sophomore release ‘Bleeding on the Soundtrack’ tells a darker tale of addiction and divorce. 

Reviewing the album for Americana UK, Keith Hargreaves said that William the Conqueror “seem to be making their bid for the big time in a very grand fashion. It’s open sky music with squealing guitars and a huge peeling melody line…Ethan Johns has coloured each track with a distinctive sound, bringing Joseph’s vocals front and centre but allowing production splashes of harmonies or piano to add great depth.”

Ethan Johns produced ‘Bleeding on the Soundtrack’ over twelve days at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios near Bath. Ethan was in attendance for William the Conqueror’s set at the Americana Music Association UK festival in Hackney in January, seemingly lost in his own personal reverie during the band’s performance. For your own chance to catch William the Conqueror these are the following dates:

Sat 13 Apr – Ramblin’ Roots Revue
Wed 17 Apr – BRISTOL Thekla
Thu 18 Apr – MANCHESTER Deaf Institute
Tue 23 Apr – SOUTHAMPTON Heartbreakers
Thu 25 Apr – BRIGHTON Prince Albert
Fri 26 Apr – WITNEY Fat Lil’s
Sat 27 Apr – NEWCASTLE Cluny2
Wed 1 May – GLASGOW Hug & Pint
Thu 2 May – BELFAST The Duke of York (Cathedral Quarter Arts Festival)
Fri 3 May – Kilkenny Roots Festival
Sat 4 May – Kilkenny Roots Festival
Sun 5 May – Kilkenny Roots Festival
Wed 8 May – LEEDS Lending Room
Thu 9 May – NEWPORT Le Pub
Fri 10 May – ST DAVIDS RAFA Club
Wed 15 May – LEICESTER The Musician
Sat 18 May – TRURO The Old Bakery
Tue 21 May – LONDON The Lexington
Thu 23 May – BIRMINGHAM Hare & Hounds
Fri 24 May – NOTTINGHAM Bodega
Thu 30 May – Red Rooster Festival
Fri 31 May – FOLKESTONE The Chambers

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.