The Slocan Ramblers announce 15 date UK/Ireland tour

Canadian Bluegrass band The Slocan Ramblers are on a bit of a roll – having picked up a Juno Award nomination for their latest album ‘Queen City Jubilee‘ and another nomination for a coveted Momentum Award for Band of the Year by the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA).  How have they achieved this?  Well -by playing Bluegrass the way it should be played – fast, thrilling, and precise.  Whether that’s Frank Evans’ banjo, Adrian Gross’ mandolin, Daryl Poulsen’s guitar or Alastair Whitehead’s bass it’s all fast and furious and – above all – precise. Really important that.

The Slocan Ramblers came out of Toronto’s gritty bluegrass scene, playing late-night bars to boisterous crowds – a background that is bound to serve them well on the notoriously uproarious UK Americana scene as they make their 15 day tour around the UK and Ireland at the end of October.

Slocan Ramblers 2019 UK Tour Dates

Thu 17 October – Baulking, Oxfordshire St Nicholas Church
Fri 18 October – Marsden, nr. Huddersfield Marsden Mechanics Hall
Sat 19 October – Berkhamsted, Herts. The Vyne Theatre, Berkhamsted Arts Centre
Sun 20 October – Barry, S. Wales Smokehouse Sessions, Hang Fire Southern Kitchen
Tue 22 October – Balor, Ireland Balor Arts Centre
Wed 23 October – Cookstown, N. Ireland The Red Room
Thu 24 October – Limavady, N. Ireland Roe Valley Arts & Cultural Centre
Fri 25 October – Bangor, N. Ireland The Chamber, Bangor Castle
Sat 26 October – Armagh Market Place Theatre & Arts Centre
Sun 27 October – Belfast The Duncairn Centre for Culture and Arts
Mon 28 October – Edinburgh Traverse Bar Café, The Traverse Theatre
Thu 31 October – Durham Old Cinema Launderette
Fri 1 November – Bishop Wilton, nr. York Bishop Wilton Village Hall
Sat 2 November – Petersfield, Hants. The Studio at The Petersfield School
Sun 3 November – Whitstable Whitstable Sessions, St Mary’s Hall (Umbrella Centre)

 

Author: Jonathan Aird

Sure, I could climb high in a tree, or go to Skye on my holiday. I could be happy. All I really want is the excitement of first hearing The Byrds, the amazement of decades of Dylan's music, or the thrill of seeing a band like The Long Ryders live. That's not much to ask, is it?

Leave a comment..

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.